Different engines like google are an effective way to spice up your advertising and marketing efforts. Listed below are a few of our prime picks price exploring.
The highest 13 engines like google aside from Google:
From different massive names — like Microsoft and Yahoo — to various search platforms focusing on privateness or planting trees, exploring different engines like google exterior of Google might drastically profit your advertising and marketing efforts.
Should you use search engine marketing (SEO) and pay-per-click (PPC) promoting in your advertising and marketing technique (and also you do, proper?), you may have a vested curiosity in studying what engines like google are on the market and the way they work.
In any other case, you could be lacking out on a search engine your viewers is utilizing — and have opponents lapping you in search outcomes.
Right here’s a more in-depth take a look at a few of the greatest various engines like google full with knowledgeable insights from HawkSEM CEO Sam Yadegar.
Experimenting with extra engines like google might carry you stunning outcomes. (Picture: Unsplash)
13 engines like google aside from Google to contemplate
1. Bing
In relation to market share, Bing sits proudly in second place.
In line with Yadegar, we should always all be paying nearer consideration to Bing because it started incorporating AI into its search capabilities.
Listed below are some key stats about Bing it’s worthwhile to know:
- The variety of month-to-month guests on Bing is over 500 million.
- The biggest age group on Bing is 25-34, making up 29.22% of users.
- 34% of Microsoft Search Community customers (which incorporates Bing) have graduated school.
- 36% of Microsoft Search Community customers have a family revenue within the prime 25%.
In relation to paid promoting, advertisements on Bing have their very own distinctive benefits.
Once you use them, you’re placing your advertisements out on the Microsoft Community (Bing, Yahoo, AOL, in addition to Home windows and Xbox customers). Plus, the CPC on Bing is decrease than on Google, and in sure industries, the distinction is critical.
For instance, within the authorized sector, Bing advertisements have a median CPC of $1.42, whereas Google is over 4 instances as a lot at $6.75.
2. DuckDuckGo
DuckDuckGo is standard amongst customers who’re involved about privateness. It positions itself as a search engine that doesn’t observe issues like IP or search phrases, nor personalize search outcomes.
With almost 2% of the search market share within the U.S. as of 2023, DuckDuckGo has seen a gentle enhance in reputation, which could possibly be attributed to the rise in folks’s concern about their private knowledge and privateness.
Right this moment, round 80 million folks use DuckDuckGo globally, with a every day common of about 97 million searches. Whereas the attain of DuckDuckGo is narrower than that of Google or Bing, the variety of customers is rising.
Professional tip: You may set DuckDuckGo as your default search engine on iOS.
3. Yandex
If part of your target market is situated in Russia, you wish to pay particular consideration to Yandex. On this nation, Yandex is the main search engine, taking 63.8% of complete person visits, with Google claiming the #2 spot.
When utilizing Yandex for promoting, it’s a good suggestion to familiarize your self with Russian net privateness legal guidelines. (Common Information Safety Regulation, or GDPR, isn’t energetic in Russia.)
Whereas the worldwide market share of Yandex is simply 1.63%, it’s one of many prime 4 engines like google on the planet and could be a superb funding for companies that function in Russia.
4. Baidu
If what you are promoting works with a Chinese language viewers or you may have some stellar non-English content material to share, you’ll wish to pay particular consideration to Baidu.
Since Google is blocked in mainland China, Baidu holds the highest spot as the preferred search engine, accounting for an incredible 94% of the market share.
Promoting on Baidu could be tough since Chinese language legal guidelines are strict about promoting. To begin utilizing Baidu Adverts, it’s worthwhile to present a big quantity of paperwork.
When promoting on this search engine, you additionally need to work with an area supervisor who makes certain that you simply aren’t advertising and marketing something that may be thought-about “delicate,” in accordance with Chinese language legal guidelines.
5. Kagi
Kagi is slightly completely different from the opposite engines like google on this checklist. Sometimes, engines like google are free. They’ll provide their providers with out a value as a result of they acquire knowledge and promote.
Kagi runs with a subscription mannequin — which suggests promoting isn’t an choice.
Nonetheless, you possibly can nonetheless attempt to rank organically on this distinctive platform.
We’ve seen how subscription fashions like Netflix took off as a result of some customers discover the pricing price it to be able to keep away from advertisements. Such a person expertise for engines like google might probably develop in reputation, and we predict it’s well worth the time to be taught extra in regards to the platform.
6. Ecosia
Regardless of your target market, there’s doubtless a good portion that cares about sustainability. For manufacturers trying to join with an environmentally acutely aware viewers, take a while to dig into Ecosia.
This search engine guarantees customers to spend the cash it earns via promoting on planting timber. And with virtually 70% of Americans in favor of the US taking steps to turn into carbon impartial by 2050, chances are high a few of your viewers might overlap.
Ecosia reports that it has greater than 20 million energetic customers, and its world market share is 0.11%. This search engine is particularly standard amongst Germans, the place the corporate is predicated, and there’s a sturdy tradition of caring in regards to the atmosphere.
With environmental considerations rising steadily, Ecosia’s reputation is prone to develop as nicely. And since promoting on this search engine is inexpensive than on Google, spending a few of your advertising and marketing funds there might make sense.
Ecosia’s search outcomes and advertisements are powered by Microsoft’s Bing net crawlers. Nonetheless, the search engine says that it enhances advertisements with its personal algorithms.
7. Swisscows
Similar to DuckDuckGo, Swisscows is a privacy-focused search engine. Since launching in 2014, it claims to not retailer any knowledge, positioning itself as a personal various to Google. It additionally claims to be “family-friendly” by not surfacing outcomes that could possibly be deemed express.
The vast majority of visitors to Swisscows comes from searchers in Switzerland. Nonetheless, greater than 25% of its guests come from the U.S.
The search engine will get about 9 million customers month-to-month and works with Bing for promoting.
8. Courageous
Courageous Search is a search engine developed by Courageous Software program and is the default search engine for Courageous net browser customers in some nations.
Presently, its search market share isn’t listed as its search engine is a comparatively new addition to its browser.
Nonetheless, it’s nonetheless a community to contemplate promoting on, because the Courageous browser has grown quickly lately. Actually, as of March 2024, it had 73 million monthly users, which is not any small quantity.
One of the crucial notable issues about Courageous Search is that it makes use of its personal index of the net.
Many different small engines like google, resembling DuckDuckGo and Ecosia, use bigger engines like Google or Bing to create their search outcomes.
Because the person base of Courageous’s browser grows, it’s doubtless that its search person base will, too, so now could possibly be the sensible time to get forward of your competitors and begin promoting there.
9. Mojeek
Like Courageous, Mojeek is a search engine with its personal search index.
For customers, this implies it delivers unbiased outcomes and is superb for analysis. However, then again, it could additionally imply there could also be restricted outcomes and hamper analysis because it doesn’t pull outcomes from engines like google resembling Google.
Nearly half of Mojeek’s user base is situated in america. However it’s additionally standard within the U.Ok., France, and China, with every making up round 6% of its person base.
It additionally has a predominantly male person base. Nearly three-quarters (72%) are male. That is price paying attention to as a lot of the different engines like google on this checklist have a extra even cut up between female and male customers.
10. Gibiru
Gibiru touts itself as an “uncensored” personal search engine. They don’t use monitoring cookies or log your IP tackle. It has Firefox and Chrome browser extensions in addition to Apple and Android cell apps. They’ve been defending their customers’ knowledge since 2009.
Whereas Gibiru doesn’t provide an advert platform, you’ll nonetheless wish to be certain that your search engine marketing (web optimization) is correctly optimized so that you rank within the search outcomes. Whereas they do hold the specifics of their rating algorithm near the vest, it wouldn’t damage to make use of related methods to these you employ for Google and Bing.
As an illustration, it will seem that knowledge-based hyperlinks like these from Wikipedia could have a optimistic impact on rating on this platform.
11. Searx
Searx is an open-source metasearch engine. They don’t share their customers’ search historical past or IP addresses. This engine supplies a unique kind of search expertise from most of these we’ve listed up to now. Moderately than offering its personal outcomes, Searx compiles its search outcomes from a mix of different search suppliers.
They don’t provide advert placement proper now, however who is aware of what the longer term holds?
12. WolframAlpha
WolframAlpha solutions search queries by calculating the solutions. It’s a computational search engine, which means it does the mathematics for you. It’s accessible as an app on Google Play and the App Retailer and on desktop.
Despite the fact that it doesn’t reply typical qualitative questions like Google Search outcomes, WolframAlpha offers advertising. Speak about catering to a distinct segment market!
13. Startpage
Startpage is one more search engine that prides itself on defending its customers’ privateness. They don’t use trackers or hold observe customers’ shopping historical past. You may relaxation assured your knowledge is secure. Should you nonetheless wish to use Google, you possibly can by putting in a Startpage Chrome extension.
Why you must care about engines like google aside from Google
Google is the bona fide boss of the search market, with greater than 85% of the market share as of 2023. However there are another necessary gamers taking over that different 15%.
Past extending the attain of your advertising and marketing marketing campaign, it’s sensible to optimize for different engines like google for these causes:
#1. Whereas presently dominant, Google’s market share is steadily declining. This regular and gradual decline signifies that web customers are beginning to discover different search choices. So now could be the time on your advertising and marketing staff to take notice and begin planning content material centered on these various engines like google.
#2. Many firms ignore all engines like google aside from Google, which provides you the chance to succeed in sure audiences sooner.
#3. Paid promoting can also be usually inexpensive on various engines like google. For instance, the common cost-per-click (CPC) for Bing Adverts is $1.42, whereas Google Adverts’ common CPC is $2.69. That’s fairly a distinction, huh?
Certain, Google ought to nonetheless most likely proceed to get nearly all of your time and a spotlight for advertising and marketing functions. However experimenting with Google alternate options might carry you stunning outcomes and help you be taught and perceive these algorithms earlier than they begin taking over a much bigger share of the market.
Let’s check out some engines like google aside from Google which you could begin exploring in your advertising and marketing technique.
Social media networks as engines like google
Do you know that social networks like Fb, LinkedIn, and TikTok have superior search choices? Many individuals use social networks for a wide range of info, resembling evaluations, hours of operation, menus, appointment scheduling, and instructions.
We’ve coated a variety of platforms right here, so chances are you’ll be questioning which upcoming platforms you must try. Whereas your first thought could be to regulate extra conventional engines like google, our CEO suggests social media must be in your radar as an alternative.
“By way of upcoming engines like google,” says Yadegar. “Video search on TikTok must be on our radar.”
It’s secure to say social media search networks are trending upward. Actually, about 31% of customers are turning to social media platforms like Instagram, TikTok, and even discussion board websites like Reddit or Quora to ask their questions. As these search algorithms get extra subtle, it’s price protecting them in thoughts.
The takeaway
There’s no denying Google’s energy relating to on-line search.
Nonetheless, there are a variety of engines like google aside from Google rising in reputation.
Yadegar suggests protecting our search engine choices open exterior of simply Google to be able to entry a wide range of “various opinions and search outcomes, completely different content material uploaded to completely different platforms give customers a extra holistic view on issues.”
By focusing your consideration on different engines like google, you’re additionally widening your attain and probably rising conversions, visits to your net pages, and your advertising and marketing ROI.
This text has been up to date and was initially printed in October 2021.